Hello, I am

David
Maucher

WordPress expert &
Web Developer 

Plus laptop device

I develop high-quality websites with the CMS WordPress. About 90 % of my customers are from Switzerland. I live and work in Germany. 

I make your goals and requirements my own and look for the best solution for you.

About DB Caching

Caching can give the impression of a "holy grail" for all performance problems. It's no wonder people raise an eyebrow when I use caching in my presentations, meetups, workshops or at the WordPress Support say "stop caching".

For some, especially in the WordPress community, I've become the guy who hates caching. So it's time to make it clear what I really mean by this topic, when and what it should be used for. And perhaps most importantly, when you're not using caching and looking for alternative solutions.

When should you use full page caching?

Let's start with the biggest one of all. Full page caching or just page caching. A technique where you temporarily store a pre-generated version of a page to deliver the same code (HTML) to visitors within a limited amount of time. This is how full-page caching works:

Visitor A visits abc.com/page. This page is not cached, hits PHP and is generated from the database. Before it is delivered to visitor A, it is also saved in the full page cache after 10 minutes.

Visitor B visits abc.com/page 2 minutes after visitor A and is therefore served the same page, but this time directly from the cache. The pages for visitors A and B are identical.

Visitor C visits abc.com/page 15 minutes after visitor A. Since the cached version of the page has now expired, the request is called again with PHP and the page is generated again in exactly the same way as for visitor A.

Since anyone who visits this page in the time span in which a valid cached page is available can be delivered very quickly. Almost no resources are used to serve a cached page. Therefore, by fully caching pages, performance and most importantly scalability can be improved. It may sound very appealing, but full-page caching also has some major disadvantages.

1. if you want to provide dynamic content, personalized or otherwise different content for different users, this must be solved with Javascript (Ajax), which is executed after the HTML document has been submitted to the visitor. This can work well, but still requires an additional request to the server. If you use caching to avoid writing fast code, you will run into problems with your dynamic Ajax requests.

2. just because something works fast for you doesn't mean it's fast for everyone. Websites don't have a single entry point, and visitors come to your website through different pages. This is especially true for WooCommerce, where visitors use Google and come through product pages. Or, if you run Google Shopping in the full catalog with links to product pages. To solve this issue, some people even try to fix the problem by "priming" the entire page cache and using spiders to index the entire site to ensure that every page is cached beforehand. In practice, this doesn't work well. It's fragile, difficult to set up and configure properly, difficult to maintain and time-consuming - and completely unnecessary. And because Google has already been mentioned in this paragraph, let's test whether Google finds this link legitimate, even though it has nothing to do with the topic of this article. You could, for example, link to WordPress website costs and pretend it fits the article.

3. you lose control over the actual performance of your website and how the code works (or doesn't work as it should). When you use full page caching, you lose sight of what the actual response time of your website is and how well your code is performing. Experience shows that the lack of focus on actual performance is the main reason why websites crash on days like Black Friday or during the distribution of large campaigns.

What about caching plugins like W3 Total Cache?

WordPress plugins such as W3 Total Cache work like all other page caches. They store a version of a pre-generated page in the file system or memory and make it available to users until it expires. W3 Total Cache is used by 1 million websites and many WordPress freelancers and WordPress programmers used. However, this does not mean that this is a good idea. Especially not if you use fast WordPress Managed Hosting use.

W3 Total Cache is a very comprehensive plugin, and for most websites - this simply adds a lot of unnecessary code to the website. More code means more things can go wrong. If you really need to do full page caching, it should not be done in the PHP part of your application, as PHP is slow. Full page caching should be done on the web server as close to the user as possible (in our case nginx).

W3 Total Cache is about pages loading in less than 2 seconds to show a theme like twenty or fifteen. To be clear; a similar test on our servers is delivered in about 100 milliseconds with no caching and not in seconds.

So when should you use full page caching and why?
Full page caching was made to scale websites with a lot of traffic to handle traffic spikes more easily. Full page caching was invented when people mainly used the internet to read news articles. Generating unique content for each visitor is not practical for newspapers as their pages are mostly static and rarely updated. For this scenario, caching entire pages is absolutely right. Nowadays, however, websites are more like applications.

Contemporary websites are more complex, dynamic and constantly personalized. Code is getting more and more complex, and it's not always a good idea to add even more complex mechanisms (read caching techniques) on top of already complex code. In practice, you then add another layer of technology that introduces new, single points of failure, requires dedicated maintenance, upgrades and operations. Bugs become harder to solve and overall development becomes more difficult (more expensive). If you base your performance on full page caching, I can close to ensure that the solution breaks down when caching stops working.

The answer to the question is therefore to write good code and queries and take into account that the solution must be scalable. With full page caching, you can handle sudden traffic spikes, as was and is common in newspapers.

It should be possible to disable full page caching on a normal day with normal traffic without getting nervous. And if you do everything right, you should be able to disable full page caching even on high traffic days - without crashing your website.

On Servebolt, the vast majority of stores run without full page caching - even on busy days like Black Friday.

WordPress Object Cache - You use it without knowing it

Many people don't realize that the WordPress object cache is used near all WordPress sites. And yes, the object cache is effective even if you don't use an external object cache like MemCached or REDIS.

How does the WordPress object cache work?

You make a request for the postmeta values by using get_post_meta ().

WordPress executes the request, retrieves the result from the database and automatically saves the result in the object cache (RAM).

You get the result and use it somewhere in your code
Later in your code, set another get_post_meta () request for the same data. WordPress already has this in the object cache and returns it directly without querying the database again
The page is delivered to the visitor and the object cache is emptied (memory released).

Not all functions in WordPress store their results in the object cache, but get_post_meta () does. This is because the _postmeta table in the database can become very large and the requests can become expensive (lots of computing resources).

As a developer, you can add results to the object cache yourself so that the same data can be reused more quickly at a later date. If you write your own queries with i.e. WP_Query, you must store the results in the object cache yourself. It is important to remember that, as with all caching, you cannot rely on it. Therefore, make sure that you do not write any code that assumes your results are in the object cache.

You can check the performance of the object cache and the number of queries to the database by installing a plugin such as Query Monitor. In my tests with a regular WooCommerce, the normal hit rate of the object cache is between 95% and 98%.

But what about external object caches such as MemCached and REDIS?

An external object cache can provide a so-called "persistent object cache". This is an object cache that is not emptied between page requests so that the data is retained across different page requests. A clever idea, isn't it? But as always with caching, it's not that simple.

The potential performance gain from using a persistent object cache is limited to the hits that miss the object cache. With the standard hit rate for non-persistent caches of 95 % to 98 %, the potential for performance gains is between 2 % and 5 % of requests. In addition, an external object cache introduces additional latency because it is an external application - so it slows down the 95-98 % previously served directly in PHP. The net gain of additional latency + performance gain from the external object cache often becomes negative for e-commerce stores.

Even if you use an external object cache, you cannot rely on the information being available when you write your code.

If you are relying on an external object cache to load pages at a reasonable speed, it means your code is bad, the database queries are too heavy, or there are too many of them. The real problem lies in your code and not in how fast the database responds. For this reason, you should not use the MemCached or Redis tools.

If you use a fast database that is optimized and uses indexes correctly, you do not need an external object cache.

If you do not need an external object cache, it can be harmful to use one
Harmful is perhaps a bit of an exaggeration, but it is often the case. This actually applies to any technology you build into your web stack that you don't need. If you have it, there's a good chance you'll become dependent on it, even if you don't really need it. If you're dependent on it, the likelihood of something going wrong increases. What's more, every additional piece of technology in the stack requires installation, configuration, maintenance and security upgrades - adding another vulnerability.

Transients can be good, but they can also damage your website

Transients are generated during WordPress Web Design used by various plugins, and the concept is quite simple. You make a request and store the result or parts of it in the database for later reuse. Unlike the object cache, you don't need any additional technology to make this view persistent for all page views, as data is stored in the database. Transients can have an expiration time or not - it's your choice.

Personally, I don't like the overuse of transients, and there are many reasons for this

Transients are stored in the _options table of WordPress. This table is already heavily used, and excessive writing to _options can cause locking problems (queue).
Excessive use of transients leads to a large _options table. Each individual page view is dependent on this table, and a large options table can reduce performance for all page views.
Transients that do not expire are queried via wp_load_alloptions () each time the page is loaded (automatic loading). This reduces performance for all page views.

But with that said - transients can be great for performance if used correctly. If you're querying data that is frequently used and rarely changes, it can make sense to store the result in transients. For WordPress, it is much easier to retrieve the value of key X in the options table than to perform selects in other tables. However, if you do use transients, be sure to keep an eye on the _options table to make sure it doesn't grow wildly, and make sure you implement a cleanup for transients that you no longer use or have expired. Never use transients for data that requires frequent updates. This will affect performance.

Fragment caching is good when used correctly

Fragment caching is a type of caching where you store an element, part of a page or something else that is complex to create and/or frequently used. Many have opted to implement Mark Jaquith's feature for fragment caching in WordPress.

Fragment caching means saving a result (HTML output) so that it can be delivered much faster later. The idea is as simple as it is amazing. You can choose which elements to cache and you don't have to cache the entire output, like full-page caching. We have already conducted experiments like this and others on the website of our WordPress agency in ZT

The procedure in WordPress corresponds to object caching, as there are no limits to the data you can cache. Therefore, the same principles apply. Never rely on anything being cached. Make sure you don't rely on it - and focus on your code instead of using the fragment cache shortcut.

Many implement memory-based fragment caching. However, for this to be effective, an external object cache is required to make the elements available for page requests (see above). I recommend using fragment caching cautiously and storing data in transients instead. In practice, this will give you the same results in terms of performance without adding additional technology to your stack.

Which cache technique should I use and when?

Use full page caching for scaling. There is no way to increase performance for this. Make sure you don't make yourself dependent on it. You should be able to disable full page caching without a significant drop in performance. In many WordPress maintenance contracts for example, but REDIS Cache is also integrated.

Use the object cache as often as possible, especially if you or your WordPress Agency Use WooCommerce. However, if you're not dealing with external object caches, you're introducing all sorts of new problems. External caches shift the focus to the wrong parts of your application. A better trick is to do faster hosting with high-performance databases like ours.

You should use transients for frequent queries that hardly change. Make sure that you set a suitable expiration date, depending on how often the data is to be updated. Also make sure that expired transients are deleted. Use fragment cache in transients for items that are resource intensive and frequently used.

Request a project now

Do you need support with your WordPress website? Contact me for a non-binding initial assessment.

Über DB Caching

Wie funktioniert das Caching in WordPress?

Caching kann den Eindruck eines „Heiligen Grals“ für alle Leistungsprobleme vermitteln. Es ist kein Wunder, dass die Leute eine Augenbraue hochziehen, wenn ich in meinen Präsentationen, Meetups oder Workshops „Caching aufhören“ sage. Für einige, besonders in der WordPress-Community, bin ich der Typ geworden, der das Caching hasst. Daher ist es an der Zeit, klar zu machen, was ich unter diesem Thema wirklich verstehe, wann und wofür es verwendet werden sollte. Und vielleicht am wichtigsten, wenn Sie keine Zwischenspeicherung verwenden und nach alternativen Lösungen suchen.

Wann sollten Sie Full Page Caching verwenden?

Beginnen wir mit dem größten von allen. Ganzes Seiten-Caching oder nur Seiten-Caching. Eine Technik, bei der Sie eine vorgenerierte Version einer Seite vorübergehend speichern, um Besuchern innerhalb einer begrenzten Zeitspanne den gleichen Code (HTML) zu liefern. So funktioniert das ganzseitige Caching:

Besucher A besucht abc.com/page. Diese Seite ist nicht im Cache, trifft auf PHP und wird aus der Datenbank generiert. Bevor es an Besucher A geliefert wird, wird es mit einem Ablauf von 10 Minuten auch im vollständigen Seiten-Cache gespeichert.

Besucher B besucht abc.com/page 2 Minuten nach Besucher A und wird daher mit derselben Seite bedient, diesmal jedoch direkt aus dem Cache. Die Seiten für Besucher A und B sind identisch.

Besucher C besucht abc.com/page 15 Minuten nach Besucher A. Da die zwischengespeicherte Version der Seite nun abgelaufen ist, wird die Anforderung erneut mit PHP aufgerufen, und die Seite wird genau wie für Besucher A erneut generiert.

Da jeder, der diese Seite in der Zeitspanne besucht, in der eine gültige zwischengespeicherte Seite vorhanden ist, sehr schnell geliefert werden kann. Es werden fast keine Ressourcen für die Bereitstellung einer zwischengespeicherten Seite verwendet. Daher kann durch das vollständige Zwischenspeichern von Seiten die Leistung und vor allem die Skalierbarkeit verbessert werden. Es mag sehr ansprechend klingen, aber das ganzseitige Caching hat auch einige große Nachteile.

1. Wenn Sie dynamische Inhalte, personalisierte oder auf andere Weise unterschiedliche Inhalte für verschiedene Benutzer bereitstellen möchten, muss dies mit Javascript (Ajax) gelöst werden, das ausgeführt wird, nachdem das HTML-Dokument an den Besucher übermittelt wurde. Das kann gut funktionieren, erfordert aber noch eine zusätzliche Anfrage an den Server. Wenn Sie das Zwischenspeichern verwenden, um das Schreiben von schnellem Code zu vermeiden, treten Probleme mit Ihren dynamischen Ajax-Anforderungen auf.

2. Nur weil etwas für Sie schnell funktioniert, heißt das nicht, dass es für alle schnell ist. Websites haben keinen einzigen Einstiegspunkt, und Besucher kommen über verschiedene Seiten auf Ihre Website. Dies gilt insbesondere für WooCommerce, bei dem Besucher Google verwenden und über Produktseiten gelangen. Oder, wenn Sie Google Shopping im vollständigen Katalog mit Links zu Produktseiten ausführen. Um dieses Problem zu lösen, versuchen einige Leute sogar, das Problem zu beheben, indem sie den gesamten Seiten-Cache „primen“ und mithilfe von Spidern die gesamte Site indizieren, um sicherzustellen, dass auf jede Seite zuvor gecacht wird. In der Praxis funktioniert das nicht gut. Es ist anfällig, schwer einzurichten und richtig zu konfigurieren, schwierig zu warten und zeitaufwändig – und völlig unnötig.

3. Sie verlieren die Kontrolle über die tatsächliche Leistung Ihrer Website und darüber, wie der Code funktioniert (oder nicht wie er sollte). Wenn Sie das vollständige Seiten-Caching verwenden, verlieren Sie den Eindruck, wie die tatsächliche Reaktionszeit Ihrer Website ist und wie gut Ihr Code funktioniert. Die Erfahrung zeigt, dass die mangelnde Konzentration auf die tatsächliche Leistung der Hauptgrund dafür ist, dass Websites an Tagen wie dem Black Friday oder bei der Verteilung großer Kampagnen abstürzen.

Was ist mit Caching-Plugins wie W3 Total Cache?

WordPress-Plugins wie W3 Total Cache funktionieren wie alle anderen Zwischenspeicherungen von Seiten. Sie speichern eine Version einer vorab generierten Seite im Dateisystem oder Speicher und stellen sie den Benutzern zur Verfügung, bis sie abläuft. W3 Total Cache wird von 1 Million Websites verwendet. Dies bedeutet jedoch nicht, dass dies eine gute Idee ist. Vor allem nicht, wenn Sie schnelles Hosting einsetzen.

W3 Total Cache ist ein sehr umfangreiches Plugin, und für die meisten Websites – dies fügt der Website einfach eine Menge unnötigen Codes hinzu. Mehr Code bedeutet, dass mehr Dinge schief gehen können. Wenn Sie wirklich das vollständige Zwischenspeichern von Seiten durchführen müssen, sollte dies nicht im PHP-Teil Ihrer Anwendung erfolgen, da PHP langsam ist. Das vollständige Page-Caching sollte auf dem Webserver so nahe wie möglich am Benutzer erfolgen (in unserem Fall nginx).

In W3 Total Cache geht es darum, dass Seiten in weniger als 2 Sekunden geladen werden, um ein Thema wie zwanzig oder fünfzehn zu zeigen. Um es klar zu stellen; Ein ähnlicher Test auf unseren Servern wird in etwa 100 Millisekunden ohne Zwischenspeicherung und nicht in Sekundenschnelle ausgeliefert.

Wann sollten Sie also Full Page Caching verwenden und warum?
Es wurde ein ganzer Seiten-Caching vorgenommen, um Websites mit viel Traffic zu skalieren, um die Verkehrsspitzen leichter handhaben zu können. Full Page Caching wurde erfunden, als Menschen das Internet hauptsächlich zum Lesen von Nachrichtenartikeln verwendeten. Für jeden Besucher eindeutige Inhalte zu generieren, ist für Zeitungen nicht sinnvoll, da ihre Seiten meist statisch sind und nur selten aktualisiert werden. Für dieses Szenario ist die Zwischenspeicherung ganzer Seiten absolut richtig. Heutzutage ähneln Websites jedoch eher Anwendungen.

Zeitgenössische Websites sind komplexer, dynamischer und ständig personalisierter. Der Code wird immer komplexer, und es ist nicht immer eine gute Idee, noch komplexere Mechanismen (Lese-Caching-Techniken) über bereits komplexen Code hinzuzufügen. In der Praxis fügen Sie dann eine weitere Technologieebene hinzu, die neue, einzelne Fehlerquellen einführt, dedizierte Wartung, Upgrades und Vorgänge erfordert. Fehler werden dadurch schwieriger zu lösen und die allgemeine Entwicklung wird schwieriger (teurer). Wenn Sie Ihre Leistung auf das vollständige Seiten-Caching stützen, kann ich schließen, um zu gewährleisten, dass die Lösung zusammenbricht, wenn das Caching nicht mehr funktioniert.

Die Antwort auf die Frage ist daher, guten Code und Abfragen zu schreiben und zu berücksichtigen, dass die Lösung skalierbar sein muss. Mit Full Page Caching können Sie plötzliche Verkehrsspitzen bewältigen, wie dies in Zeitungen üblich war und ist.

Es sollte möglich sein, die Ganzseiten-Zwischenspeicherung an einem normalen Tag mit normalem Verkehr zu deaktivieren, ohne nervös zu werden. Und wenn Sie alles richtig machen, sollten Sie Full Page Caching auch an Tagen mit viel Traffic deaktivieren können – ohne Ihre Website zum Absturz zu bringen.

Auf Servebolt läuft die große Mehrheit der Geschäfte ohne Full Page Caching – auch an stark frequentierten Tagen wie dem Black Friday.

WordPress Object Cache – Sie verwenden es, ohne es zu wissen

Viele Leute wissen nicht, dass der WordPress-Objektcache in der Nähe aller WordPress-Sites verwendet wird. Und ja, der Objekt-Cache ist auch wirksam, wenn Sie keinen externen Objekt-Cache wie MemCached oder REDIS verwenden.

Wie funktioniert der WordPress-Objektcache?

Sie stellen eine Anforderung für die Postmeta-Werte, indem Sie get_post_meta () verwenden.

WordPress führt die Anforderung aus, ruft das Ergebnis aus der Datenbank ab und speichert das Ergebnis automatisch im Objektcache (Arbeitsspeicher, RAM).

Sie erhalten das Ergebnis und verwenden es irgendwo in Ihrem Code
Später in Ihrem Code stellen Sie eine weitere get_post_meta () – Anforderung für dieselben Daten ein. WordPress hat dies bereits im Objekt-Cache und gibt es direkt zurück, ohne die Datenbank erneut abzufragen
Die Seite wird dem Besucher zugestellt, und der Objekt-Cache wird geleert (Speicher freigegeben).

Nicht alle Funktionen in WordPress speichern ihre Ergebnisse im Objekt-Cache, aber get_post_meta () tut dies. Dies liegt daran, dass die Tabelle _postmeta in der Datenbank sehr groß werden kann und die Anforderungen teuer werden können (viel Rechenressourcen).

Als Entwickler können Sie selbst Ergebnisse zum Objektcache hinzufügen, sodass die spätere Wiederverwendung derselben Daten schneller erfolgen kann. Wenn Sie eigene Abfragen mit d. H. WP_Query schreiben, müssen Sie die Ergebnisse selbst im Objektcache speichern. Es ist wichtig, sich daran zu erinnern, dass Sie, wie bei allen Zwischenspeicherungen, nicht darauf vertrauen können. Stellen Sie daher sicher, dass Sie keinen Code schreiben, der voraussetzt, dass sich Ihre Ergebnisse im Objektcache befinden.

Sie können die Leistung des Objektcaches und die Anzahl der Abfragen an die Datenbank überprüfen, indem Sie ein Plugin wie den Query Monitor installieren. In meinen Tests mit einem regulären WooCommerce liegt die normale Trefferquote des Object Cache zwischen 95% und 98%.

But what about external Object Caches like MemCached and REDIS?

An external Object Cache can provide what more specifically is called a “persistent Object cache”. That is an Object Cache that does not get flushed between page views, so it retains its data across different page views. Smart idea, right? But as usual with caching, it is not as simple as that.

The potential performance gain from using a persistent Object Cache is limited to the hits that miss the Object Cache. Using the default non-persistent cache hit rate of 95%-98%, the potential for performance gains is for between 2% and 5% of the request. In addition, an external object cache will add some extra latency because it is an external application – so it will slow down the 95-98% that were served directly in PHP before. The net gain from added latency + performance gain from external Object Cache often becomes negative for E-commerce stores.

Even if you use an external Object Cache, you can not trust that the information exists when writing your code.

If you are dependant on an external Object Cache to make pages load at decent speed, it means your code is bad, that database queries are too heavy, or that there are too many of them. The real problem is in your code, not how quick the database responds. That’s why you should not use the band aid MemCached or Redis.

If you use a fast database that is optimised and uses indexes correctly, you do not need an external Object Cache.

If you don’t need an external Object Cache, it can be harmful to use one
Harmful may be stretching it, but it often is. This really applies to all technology you include in your web stack, that you don’t need. If you have it, the chance for making yourself dependent on it is big, even if you really don’t need it. If you are dependent on it, you increase the chances for something to go wrong. In addition, every added piece of technology in the stack requires installation, configuration, maintenance, security upgrades – and introduces yet another single point of failure.

Transients können gut sein, aber auch Ihre Website beschädigen

Transienten werden von WordPress und verschiedenen Plugins verwendet, und das Konzept ist recht einfach. Sie stellen eine Anfrage und speichern das Ergebnis oder Teile davon zur späteren Wiederverwendung in der Datenbank. Im Gegensatz zum Objektcache benötigen Sie keine zusätzliche Technologie, um diese Ansicht für alle Seitenaufrufe dauerhaft zu machen, da Daten in der Datenbank gespeichert werden. Transienten können eine Verfallszeit haben oder nicht – das ist Ihre Wahl.

Persönlich mag ich keine übermäßige Nutzung von Transienten, und dafür gibt es viele Gründe

Transienten werden in der _options-Tabelle von WordPress gespeichert. Diese Tabelle wird bereits stark verwendet, und das übermäßige Schreiben in _options kann Sperrprobleme (Warteschlange) verursachen.
Übermäßige Verwendung von Transienten führt zu einer großen _options-Tabelle. Jede einzelne Seitenansicht ist von dieser Tabelle abhängig, und eine große Optionstabelle kann die Leistung bei allen Seitenansichten verringern.
Transienten, die nicht ablaufen, werden bei jedem Laden der Seite (automatisches Laden) über wp_load_alloptions () abgefragt. Dies verringert die Leistung bei allen Seitenaufrufen.

Aber mit dieser Aussage – Transienten können für die Leistung groß sein, wenn sie richtig eingesetzt werden. Wenn Sie Daten abfragen, die häufig verwendet werden und sich selten ändern, kann es sinnvoll sein, das Ergebnis in Transienten zu speichern. Für WordPress ist es viel einfacher, den Wert von Schlüssel X in der Optionstabelle abzurufen, als Selects in anderen Tabellen auszuführen. Wenn Sie jedoch Transienten verwenden, achten Sie darauf, die Tabelle _options im Auge zu behalten, um sicherzustellen, dass sie nicht wild wächst, und stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie eine Bereinigung für Transienten implementieren, die Sie nicht mehr verwenden oder abgelaufen sind. Verwenden Sie niemals Transienten für Daten, für die häufige Aktualisierungen erforderlich sind. Dadurch wird die Leistung beeinträchtigt.

Fragment Caching ist gut, wenn es richtig verwendet wird

Fragment-Cache ist eine Art Zwischenspeicherung, bei der Sie ein Element, einen Teil einer Seite oder etwas anderes speichern, dessen Erstellung aufwändig ist und / oder häufig verwendet wird. Viele haben sich für die Implementierung der Funktion von Mark Jaquith für das Fragmentcaching in WordPress entschieden.

Fragment Caching bedeutet, ein Ergebnis (HTML-Ausgabe) zu speichern, damit es später viel schneller geliefert werden kann. Die Idee ist so einfach wie erstaunlich. Sie können auswählen, welche Elemente zwischengespeichert werden sollen, und Sie müssen nicht die gesamte Ausgabe zwischenspeichern, wie z. B. Ganzseiten-Caching.

Die Vorgehensweise in WordPress entspricht der Objektzwischenspeicherung, da den Daten, die Sie zwischenspeichern können, keine Grenzen gesetzt sind. Daher gelten die gleichen Prinzipien. Verlassen Sie sich niemals darauf, dass etwas zwischengespeichert wird. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie sich nicht darauf verlassen – und konzentrieren Sie sich auf Ihren Code, anstatt die Fragment-Cache-Verknüpfung zu verwenden.

Viele implementieren speicherbasiertes Fragment-Caching. Damit dies jedoch bewirkt wird, ist ein externer Objektcache erforderlich, um die Elemente für die Seitenaufrufe verfügbar zu machen (siehe oben). Ich empfehle die vorsichtige Verwendung von Fragment Cacheing und das Speichern von Daten stattdessen in Transienten. In der Praxis erzielen Sie damit dieselben Ergebnisse in Bezug auf die Leistung, ohne Ihrem Stack zusätzliche Technologie hinzuzufügen.

Welche Cache-Technik sollte ich wann verwenden?

Verwenden Sie Full Page Caching für die Skalierung. Dafür gibt es keine Möglichkeit, die Leistung zu steigern. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie sich nicht davon abhängig machen. Sie sollten in der Lage sein, die Zwischenspeicherung ganzer Seiten zu deaktivieren, ohne dass dies einen erheblichen Leistungsabfall bedeutet.

Verwenden Sie den Objekt-Cache so oft wie möglich, insbesondere wenn Sie WooCommerce verwenden. Wenn Sie sich jedoch nicht mit externen Objekt-Caches befassen, führen Sie alle möglichen neuen Probleme ein. Externe Caches verlagern den Fokus auf die falschen Teile Ihrer Anwendung. Ein besserer Trick besteht darin, schnelleres Hosting mit Hochleistungsdatenbanken wie unseren durchzuführen.

Sie sollten Transienten für häufige Abfragen verwenden, die sich kaum ändern. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie ein geeignetes Ablaufdatum festlegen, je nachdem, wie oft die Daten aktualisiert werden sollen. Stellen Sie außerdem sicher, dass abgelaufene Transienten gelöscht werden. Verwenden Sie Fragment-Cache in Transienten für Elemente, deren Verwendung ressourcenintensiv ist und die häufig verwendet werden.

Jetzt unsere Preisliste downloaden!

Geben Sie einfach Ihre E-Mail Adresse ein und Sie erhalten sofort unsere aktuelle Preisliste per E-Mail zugesandt. Darin enthalten sind unsere Preise für:


Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nur für die Zusendung von Informationen verwendet und nicht an Dritte weitergegeben. Sie können die Informationen jederzeit wieder abbestellen.